The Quilt Thing: How It All Started

After over twenty years as a primary teacher I became a full time artist, returning to painting was challenging and satisfying in equal measure. Painting full time allowed me to spend my days working with colour, my absolute passion. After a while two things started to happen: more and more of my paintings took on the form of a grid, and I also found myself wanting to stitch into the dried paint.

A two picture collage. The first square shows a mid century print comprised of rows of blue and white squares. A stylised house plant is featured in the centre. The second square shows a detail of a painting, made up of bright blue and dark brown squares. A small blackbird sits in one blue square.

The influence of quilts on this portait of a garden (detail)

At the same time a quilt made by my grandmother came back into my life after a long absence. Inspired by this beautiful item I started to paint patchwork quilts and also to stitch into the quilt with some visible mending…. then without warning my painting became blocked.

An old fashioned faded quilt made form many irregular patches hangs on a washing line in a sunny garden

My Grandmother’s Quilt

It felt that the sewing wanted to take precedence. I started embroidering, how did I know how to do these stitches? Chain, back, stem, running, fly ​stitches. These stitches and this knowledge were coming from somewhere deep, somewhere important.

 

About coreencottam

Hello, thanks for coming to my blog. Here's a bit about me. I'm an artist. My inspiration comes from my love of colour, land, nature, coincidences and connections. Through creating my blog I have discovered that I love writing too. While I am painting or sewing, my ideas are often not fully resolved, but the discipline of writing pulls these ideas into focus and I often discover other significances and layers of meaning: so the painting/stitching and the writing inform each other. A nice neat circle, as you look through my work you'll see how often circles appear!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment